His Chosen Bride - By Sherry Gloag - Astraea Press - March 3, 2012

Melanie and Liam happily live in Scotland where they have a farm and run a riding school for children with special needs. Liam’s brother, Henri Pierre Gasquet, has been put on an indeterminate leave of absence by their father, the King. After their father’s heart attack a year ago, Henri took upon all of his responsibilities along with his own. Now that the King has returned to his duties, he has given Henri a reprieve. Not too pleased with the order to do nothing but relax, Henri can not imagine what he will do with himself.

Monica Latimer loves children, the outdoors, animals, and life. She also has a third eye, or premonitions. This usually sends people running. Handsome and arrogant Henri blames her for his being ordered to take a rest and being sent to Scotland to do so.

Henri is all about the kingdom and taking one for the team. Little does he know what his future holds for him.

Sherry Gloag’s story is one that picked me up and did not put me down until I finished it. Definitely a breath of fresh air.

I give this story 4 ¾ Sunflowers.

http://reviewsrmine.wordpress.com/2012/03/03/his-chosen-bride-by-sherry-gloag/ 

~ ~ ~ ~ ~

11th April 2012

I really like Monica and her Gift she has to help others! How cool is that? I think pretty cool. I also like Henri and understand him having a hard time being force to take a break and wanting to blame someone. I liked the tension between Henri and Monica. I did feel that Henri was a bit fickle with his feelings. But he seemed to work that out in the end. I sure hope that Ms. Gloag has plans to write the Henri's younger twins stories. I felt she did a great job of setting that up toward the end of the story. This is a sweet romance so it does not have any swearing or sex. This was a fun read and I read it in one sitting. If you love romance and don't have tons of time then this may be the read for you.

Reviewed by Tiffany.  (Tifferz)

~ ~ ~ ~ ~

Arlena Dean rated it 4 of 5 stars false

Author: Sherry Gloag
Published By: Astraea Press
Age Recommend: Adult
Reviewed By: Arlena Dean
Raven Rating: 4
Blog Review For: GMTA
Review:


"His Chosen Bride" by Sherry Gloag was a sweet romantic story. I liked
the way the author presented this storytelling. It was truly all about family. For Henri... his thoughts were to have his father pick his bride. The King of Scotland who had been ill.. was now well and wanted to his son Henri Pierre Gasquet (who had taken care of all his responsibilities while he was ill) to take an indeterminate leave of absence. Where? and Why? (to find a bride)?....

Henri went to Liam and Melanie (his brother and wife) who had a farm
and they ran a Riding School for Children with special needs.' While there Henri was not the only visitor at this time... for there was Monica Latimer who Henri quickly is to blame her for reasons that didn't really make any sense... was there something going on between these two? Monica wasn't for letting any male get too close to her to learn of her Gift...This gift ususally sent men leaving quickly after they found out about it. Just what was this gift? Well you will have to read this novel "His Chosen Bride" to find out just what abilities Monica had. I am not telling...(smile).

The characters: Henri, Liam, Melanie, Monica, Simeon, and Sacha were
simply wonderful. I enjoyed how the author was able to get this story
all together quickly and very smoothly. In the end will Henri and Monica be able to get together? What does the future hold for them?

I found "His Chosen Bride" a very delightful read and if you are in for a good romance this read is for you. This novel was one that I could not put down until I was finished.
 
~ ~ ~ ~ ~
 
This review is for: His Chosen Bride (Kindle Edition)  Ma\y 4th 2012
This story is almost the complete antithesis of its predecessor. `From Now Until Forever', had the King and Queen attempting and failing to reign in their headstrong and rebellious youngest son, Prince Liam and finally having to reconcile themselves to accepting him for the individual personality he had developed and the independent young man that he had become, recognising that their unconditional love for him still overshadowed whatever regal dictates they were expected to conform to.

In this story `His Chosen Bride', the focus is on the Royal Family's eldest son and heir, Henri. Having suffered and survived the trauma with his brother Liam, Henri's parents have learned their lessons well and are determined that he should be encouraged to live freely and love a little, before settling down to his Royal duties in earnest, and even then, that he should finally take a bride of his choosing, trusting explicitly in their son's judgement in reconciling matters of his heart, with the expectations of his duty.

In Henri, Sherry has created a fiercely loyal character, who accepts his future role with great dignity and pride, who is quite prepared to accept an arranged marriage of his parents choice, if it means that there is someone eminently suitable to take her place beside him as the future Queen of his country.

He is therefore totally unprepared for the scheming which his family has been doing without his knowledge and for his overwhelming feelings for Liam and Melanie's friend Monica, for whom there is an instant, mutual attraction, which has a devastating effect on them both.

Henri tries, with difficulty to maintain his position of detachment and indifference, which only serves to confuse and frustrate him and send mixed messages to Monica, who fears that Henri will eventually come to see her as the `stranger' she is and therefore totally unsuitable as a Royal bride, whilst completely misinterpreting his shyness and aloofness for arrogance. When he is placed in a situation which he cannot control, we see Henri's stoic facade disintegrate, rendering him powerless to control his feelings and having to decide whether he can accept Monica for who she is, or whether their relationship is purely a `fatal attraction'.

Added to this, is the small matter of Monica's `special gift', which she hopes to hide from Henri, but which cannot be denied when it is most needed and he is in danger. Whilst Monica is quite an insecure and complex character, she is also quite single-minded in her quest to determine whether Henri's feelings for her are genuine, or simply his token act of rebellion, before returning home and settling down to a `marriage of convenience'.

The plot is quite an `open-book' and not overly complicated, with the main emphasis being centred on the development of the characters and their burgeoning relationship, although there are a couple of unexpected twists and turns along the way. The story is definitely character centric, as feelings, emotions and personalities evolve with each passing page, bringing a maturity of mind and spirit, together with a sensitivity and sense of caring which will stand the couple in great stead for the pressures and intrusive focus, which will undoubtedly follow them as they pursue their Royal duties.

As an experienced and accomplished author Sherry has seamlessly combined the two individual stories about the eldest and youngest of the Gasquet princes, whilst managing to keep the separate identities of both books. She has also carefully crafted the two middle princes into this story, thereby leaving the door open for further episodes in the series, at the same time giving herself the option to leave the series at just the two books and move on to pastures new.
 
Reviewed by Yvonne "Fiction Books" (Somerset England)
 
~ ~ ~ ~ ~
 
The following reviews were all copied from Amazon (before they removed many of them in 2012!)
 

5.0 out of 5 stars Love........, July 10, 2012 By Book Referees
This review is from: His Chosen Bride (Kindle Edition)
This was an outstanding read! Author Sherry Gloag really captured my attention from the beginning.

This story was about a future king who fell in love with an ordinary girl who had extraordinary powers. He was afraid that she would not be willing to give up the simple life and share the life that would be required of a future queen and all the pomp and circumstance that surrounded his position.

She, on the other hand, did not know how he would respond to the ability she had to foretell the future. All her other suitors had left her when she displayed herskill. She had the ability to see everyone else's future except her own.

Author Gloag kept me engaged throughout the entire story because the plot and characters were well developed. I can't wait to read more books from this author.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

5.0 out of 5 stars romance contemporary paranormal royalty, April 16, 2012
By  Stewart "photographer" (Dayton, OH USA) -

This review is from: His Chosen Bride (Kindle Edition)

Monica and Henri meet at Melanie and Liam's renewal of vows and are attracted to one another.

Henri returns to his duties as heir to the throne, and Monica returns to Scotland.

The King, Henri's father, recovers from a heart attack and is ready to resume the duties Henri performed in his absence.

On his father's orders, Henri travels and, during the Christmas holidays, ends up at his sister-in-law and his brother's home in Scotland. Before he leaves the palace, Henri's parents tell him to chose a woman he loves to be his bride, but Henri insists he'll accept any woman they choose for him.

Monica, Melanie's dear friend and partner in a riding school for physically challenged children, is spending Christmas with Melanie and Liam.

When Liam sees her there, he jumps to the conclusion she and Melanie plot to make him fall in love with Monica. He lets his rage erupt and blasts her.

Monica is in love with Henri, but she doesn't believe he returns that love. She doesn't plot to win him, and his verbal attack hurts and angers her. She's determined to avoid and ignore him. Her paranormal gift enables her to see events in a fire's flames. Over the years some people reject her because of the gift. She's sensitive to those rejections.

Henri's feelings toward Monica run hot and cold. He's attracted, but doesn't want to admit he's attracted to her. Labeling her a schemer helps him fight the attraction. When he witnesses one of her psychic episodes, he dismisses it as more plotting.

He agrees to remain at the farm with Liam and Melanie until after the Valentine's Day dance, a fund raiser for the farm's work with children.

Monica's gift enables her to rescue Henri. He finally allows love to enter his life.

Monica's gift and the inclusion of Liam and Melanie from the previous novels earn the extra star.

Judy Lammers

 

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

4.0 out of 5 stars Now I have to read Liam and Melanie's story!, August 25, 2012
By Kimberly Bowman

This review is from: His Chosen Bride (Kindle Edition)

I love the simple complexity of the characters, especially Monica. I love how she didn't "flaunt" her psychic powers but tried to be herself. I like that she didn't fall at Henri's fee, even though she truly loved him. Henri tended to be a bit of an enigma. He took his duties very seriously, and he seemed to not trust himself to pick a bride suitable to rule beside him. This made him very frustrated and he took it out on Monica, who didn't take it lying down.
I loved having the heroine save the day, yet Henri was still a strong hero. And the setting...Christmas in Scotland! I was in heaven! This was a quick read at just shy of 100 pages. Perfect enough for a weekend getaway into a sweet romance!

~~~~~~~~~~~~4.0 out of 5 stars Sweet Read, July 22, 2012
By 
scribblesonthebackofjanuary (USA)
This review is from: His Chosen Bride (Kindle Edition)

Prince Henri is too busy running a country to worry about minor details like marriage. His father has been sick, and he has taken the reins in his more than capable hands. But his family is worried about him, and they all but force him to take a vacation.

Having no choice in the matter, Henri travels to his brother's quiet country horse ranch. It's there he sees Monica again.

He had met her before...at his brother's wedding. And he knew then she would be trouble for him if he let her get too close. Now, thrown together by his well-meaning family, Henri has to fight his growing feelings for the mysterious, beautiful woman.

So much for letting his father choose his bride.

This is a novella, so a pretty quick read. Henri is your typical work-a-holic with a twist. He's the crown prince in line to inherit the throne. He acts the way you would expect him to when he finds out that he is being relieved of his royal duties and forced into taking a much needed vacation. He's upset and takes it out on any likely scapegoat, in this case Monica.

Both characters are likable and well-written. The reader wants them to end up together from the beginning. There is good chemistry between the two main characters and the sense of duty on Henri's side versus the sense Monica has of not fitting in anywhere provides a solid conflict they both believe to be insurmountable. It'll keep you reading to the end.

There are a lot of flashbacks that can cause confusion if you're not paying attention. Pair that with a few places near the end where significant time lapses occur, and the storyline can be a bit difficult to follow in certain parts. Not impossible, but challenging.

This is a sweet romance, suitable for romance readers of all ages. It is the second book in a series, and it mentions characters and plot points from the first book, and I hadn't read the first book. It is possible to read it out of sequence without feeling like you are missing critical pieces of the story, but I found that it made me want to read the first book to get in on the story of the secondary characters. I have added From Now Until Forever to my TBR list. Can't wait to find out how Liam and Melanie got together.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

4.0 out of 5 stars An enjoyable read, July 12, 2012

By  E.A. West
This review is from: His Chosen Bride (Kindle Edition)

Henri Gasquet is forced to take a holiday from his duties as heir to the throne. Far from pleased with suddenly having nothing to do, he visits his brother and sister-in-law in Scotland. The one redeeming part of the trip--and one of the most frustrating--is the appearance of Monica Latimer, the woman he hasn't been able to forget since the day he first met her. Can he win over Monica's heart and accept her special gift? Can Monica learn to trust Henri and break through the royal wall he's built around his heart?

This is a short contemporary romance filled with contention between the hero and heroine. Although portrayed as being unable to resist each other, they rarely have a conversation that ends without an argument or hurt feelings. Yet there is still an undeniable attraction that keeps the reader hoping they'll look past their fears and see how much they care for each other. The fact that they have trouble keeping their hands off each other also shows the developing romance.

While this book was an enjoyable read, some scenes felt cut short. This was disappointing, but didn't detract from the strength of the romance between Henri and Monica. I also would have liked to see some of the events that were mentioned but never shown. The sweet ending makes up for some of this and put a smile on my face. All in all, His Chosen Bride was an enjoyable read.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
4.0 out of 5 stars A Lovely Paranormal Romance, July 7, 2012

 By Phoenix Carvelli (Southern Illinois, USA)

This review is from: His Chosen Bride (Kindle Edition)
His Chosen Bride is a lovely paranormal romance. The interactions between the characters are frustratingly believable. The paranormal aspect of the story was not overwhelming and was believable. I felt the ending was a bit rushed. Overall, a well done and fun read!

Received copy through Book Club.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable, May 22, 2012
By  Romancing the Book (Spokane, WA)

This review is from: His Chosen Bride (Kindle Edition)
Posted on Romancing the BOok's blog
Reviewed by Tee
Review Copy Provided by the Publisher

His Chosen Bride was not exactly what I expected. At time it was boring and as I read, it did get more interesting, so I wanted to know how it would all work out. That was one reason why I kept turning the pages; to what lengths would Henri go to see just who Monica really is and how important what she does means to her. Monica and Henri are very attracted to each other but there are some things that keep them apart, one being Monica's special gift. To find out about this special gift you must pick up the book and enjoy the afternoon by relaxing and reading His Chosen Bride.

I would recommend this book for I enjoy the story line itself and that is the reason I gave it four roses. It was a great romance that I think with a bit more drama would have been much more fun to read.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

4.0 out of 5 stars `CAN DUTY AND LOVE LIVE AS ONE?`, May 4, 2012

By  Fiction Books "Fiction Books" (Somerset, UK)

This review is from: His Chosen Bride (Kindle Edition)

This story is almost the complete antithesis of its predecessor. `From Now Until Forever', had the King and Queen attempting and failing to reign in their headstrong and rebellious youngest son, Prince Liam and finally having to reconcile themselves to accepting him for the individual personality he had developed and the independent young man that he had become, recognising that their unconditional love for him still overshadowed whatever regal dictates they were expected to conform to.

In this story `His Chosen Bride', the focus is on the Royal Family's eldest son and heir, Henri. Having suffered and survived the trauma with his brother Liam, Henri's parents have learned their lessons well and are determined that he should be encouraged to live freely and love a little, before settling down to his Royal duties in earnest, and even then, that he should finally take a bride of his choosing, trusting explicitly in their son's judgement in reconciling matters of his heart, with the expectations of his duty.

In Henri, Sherry has created a fiercely loyal character, who accepts his future role with great dignity and pride, who is quite prepared to accept an arranged marriage of his parents choice, if it means that there is someone eminently suitable to take her place beside him as the future Queen of his country.

He is therefore totally unprepared for the scheming which his family has been doing without his knowledge and for his overwhelming feelings for Liam and Melanie's friend Monica, for whom there is an instant, mutual attraction, which has a devastating effect on them both.

Henri tries, with difficulty to maintain his position of detachment and indifference, which only serves to confuse and frustrate him and send mixed messages to Monica, who fears that Henri will eventually come to see her as the `stranger' she is and therefore totally unsuitable as a Royal bride, whilst completely misinterpreting his shyness and aloofness for arrogance. When he is placed in a situation which he cannot control, we see Henri's stoic facade disintegrate, rendering him powerless to control his feelings and having to decide whether he can accept Monica for who she is, or whether their relationship is purely a `fatal attraction'.

Added to this, is the small matter of Monica's `special gift', which she hopes to hide from Henri, but which cannot be denied when it is most needed and he is in danger. Whilst Monica is quite an insecure and complex character, she is also quite single-minded in her quest to determine whether Henri's feelings for her are genuine, or simply his token act of rebellion, before returning home and settling down to a `marriage of convenience'.

The plot is quite an `open-book' and not overly complicated, with the main emphasis being centred on the development of the characters and their burgeoning relationship, although there are a couple of unexpected twists and turns along the way. The story is definitely character centric, as feelings, emotions and personalities evolve with each passing page, bringing a maturity of mind and spirit, together with a sensitivity and sense of caring which will stand the couple in great stead for the pressures and intrusive focus, which will undoubtedly follow them as they pursue their Royal duties.

As an experienced and accomplished author Sherry has seamlessly combined the two individual stories about the eldest and youngest of the Gasquet princes, whilst managing to keep the separate identities of both books. She has also carefully crafted the two middle princes into this story, thereby leaving the door open for further episodes in the series, at the same time giving herself the option to leave the series at just the two books and move on to pastures new.

~~~~~~~~~~~
4.0 out of 5 stars
sweet short romance, April 11, 2012
By 
Tifferz
This review is from: His Chosen Bride (Kindle Edition)

I really like Monica and her Gift she has to help others! How cool is that? I think pretty cool. I also like Henri and understand him having a hard time being force to take a break and wanting to blame someone. I liked the tension between Henri and Monica. I did feel that Henri was a bit fickle with his feelings. But he seemed to work that out in the end. I sure hope that Ms. Gloag has plans to write the Henri's younger twins stories. I felt she did a great job of setting that up toward the end of the story. This is a sweet romance so it does not have any swearing or sex. This was a fun read and I read it in one sitting. If you love romance and don't have tons of time then this may be the read for you.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

4.0 out of 5 stars His Chosen Bride, March 19, 2012
By  Arlena (Broken Arrow, OK, United States)

This review is from: His Chosen Bride (Kindle Edition)

Author: Sherry Gloag
Published By: Astraea Press
Age Recommend: Adult
Reviewed By: Arlena Dean
Raven Rating: 4
Blog Review For: GMTA
Review:

"His Chosen Bride" by Sherry Gloag was a sweet romantic story. I liked the way the author presented this storytelling. It was truly all about family. For Henri... his thoughts were to have his father pick his bride. The King of Scotland who had been ill.. was now well and wanted to his son Henri Pierre Gasquet (who had taken care of all his responsibilities while he was ill) to take an indeterminate leave of absence. Where? and Why? (to find a bride)?....

Henri went to Liam and Melanie (his brother and wife) who had a farm and they ran a Riding School for Children with special needs.' While there Henri was not the only visitor at this time... for there was Monica Latimer who Henri quickly is to blame her for reasons that didn't really make any sense... was there something going on between these two? Monica wasn't for letting any male get too close to her to learn of her Gift...This gift ususally sent men leaving quickly after they found out about it. Just what was this gift? Well you will have to read this novel "His Chosen Bride" to find out just what abilities Monica had. I am not telling...(smile).

The characters: Henri, Liam, Melanie, Monica, Simeon, and Sacha were simply wonderful. I enjoyed how the author was able to get this story all together quickly and very smoothly. In the end will Henri and Monica be able to get together? What does the future hold for them?

I found "His Chosen Bride" a very delightful read and if you are in for a good romance this read is for you. This novel was one that I could not put down until I was finished.

 

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

3.0 out of 5 stars His Chosen Bride, July 22, 2012

By  Michael Owens "Kiley" (lexington nc)
This review is from: His Chosen Bride (Kindle Edition)

 

It was an okay read. Henri's whiplash moods got on my nerves. The writing was a little jumpy and it was hard to keep track at times.

 

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

2.0 out of 5 stars I struggled through this story, March 23, 2012

By  Clu's Cassidy

This review is from: His Chosen Bride (Kindle Edition)

I have to admit I struggled through this story. For it being what I call a short story (under 100pgs) it took me several weeks to read it instead of an hour or so that it should have taken. I felt like the story was constantly dragging me in the wrong direction and often skipping about. One minute the hero was hating the heroine and then he's in love with her for absolutely no reason. I feel that this story could be good if the author spends some time in the story developing the characters, story line and puts more thought into the plot. Out of 1-5 I would give it a 2